The Monastery property had several owners before being purchased by the Passionist Community in 1896.
The original 16 acres of land, including grapevines, was owned by Mr Arthur Hardy. In 1847, ownership passed to Mr Joseph Barrow Montefiore (whose brother was the inspiration for Montefiore Hill) who built a grand house in oriental design, named ‘The Glen’. He surrounded it with well chosen, rare and imported trees and plants, some of which still grace the grounds, including a huge Morton Bay Fig and two fine Norfolk Island pines.
The property had two more landowners until 1896, when the Passionist Community purchased it for 2500 pounds.
Due to council recommendations, the original building was demolished in the early 1940s and gradually rebuilt to suit the changing needs of the monastic community. The unique Spanish styled architecture, with spacious verandahs and high ceilings, lends itself beautifully for use as a unique conference and function venue.